S Quirke 2019

Conor Murphy of St Kieran’s, Kilkenny (left) and Presentation College’s Shane Quirke with referee Johnny Murphy before throw-in in the All-Ireland Post Primary Senior A Hurling Championship Final at Tullamore.

 Post Primary Schools

There was no joy for Presentation College in the All-Ireland Post Primary Senior A Hurling Championship Final at Tullamore.

A year previous, it took St Kieran's College until extra time to eventually overcome a courageous Presentation College, Athenry outfit. Twelve months down the line, it was the Kilkenny nursery once again who pipped their Galway counterparts in another closely contested decider. 

Finals are often decided by the hop of the ball and heart-breakingly for the Pres men it was the opposition who got the rub of the green in the 53rd minute with Kieran's sub­stitute Conor Kelly kicking the ball to the net from the base of a huddle.
The O'Loughlin Gaels clubman's fortuitous break ultimately proved the difference and knocked the stuffing out of the Athenry college who were outscored 1-4 to just two points in the closing ten minutes of the game.

Final score: St. Kieran’s Kilkenny 1-15 Presentation College Athenry 1-12

Senior Hurling

Athenry seniors may be classed as a developing side, but entered into the summer months off with a perfect record of two wins from two that placeed them top of Group 1 in the Senior B Hurling Championship. A late Noel Keogh goal helped them past Beagh two weekends before­hand, but their viictory this time around was more commanding in nature. James Divilly and Conor Burke set the tone from the halfback line, the duo contributing a point apiece and were complicit in Athenry's second goal, where Keogh was again on hand to apply a finishing touch to what was the best move of the match.


Galway produced a perfor­mance fit for the occasion to dethrone four in-a-row-chas­ing Kilkenny and capture a first National League Division I Camogie tite in four seasons at Croke Park. The Tribeswomen were very impressive and well-organised throughout, and were more dominant than the two-point winning margin may suggest. Kilkenny were pedestrian in comparison, playing sec­ond fiddle to Cathal Murray's charges for long spells and went eight points down at one stage, a lead the winners never fully relinquished. 
This was Galway's first league title since 2015 and they were in great form throughout the campaign, easing their way to the final and outclassing Limerick at the semi-final stage.

Galway: Sarah Healy; Shauna Healy, S. Dervan (captain). H. Cooney; T. Kenny, E. Helebert. L Ryan: A.M. Starr, A. Donohue (O-3); N. Kilkenny (0-2), A. O'Reilly (O-1), N. McGrath; C. Dolan (0-8,0-6 Frees. 0-2 45’s). N. Hannilfy (0-2), N. Coen. Subs: S. Spellman for McGrath. 42 mins; M. Cooney for Coen. 51 mins: D. Higgins for Ryan. 62 mins. L. Ryan for Dolan, 63 mins.


Galway Camogie 2019

 Galway National League Division 1 Camogie Champions

Back: Laura Glynn (Sarsfields), Molly Mannion (Mountbellew­-Moylough), Niamh Murphy (Clarinbridge), Laura Ward (Sarsfields), Karen Kennedy (Mullagh), Leanne Freaney (Athenry), Niamh Hanniffy (Oranmore-Maree), Sarah Healy (St. Thomas'), Heather Cooney (St. Thomas'), Sarah Dervan (captain, Mullagh), Catriona Cormican (Cappataggle), Dervla Higgins (Athenry), Maria Cooney (Sarsfields), Niamh McGrath (Sarsfields), Lisa Casserly (Balllnderreen), Ciara Murphy (Clarinbridge), Mairead Dillon (Kilconieron), Anne Marie Starr (Killimor): Front: Catriona Lee (Castlegar), Ellsha Broderick (Castlegar), Carrie Dolan (Clarinbridge), Catherine Finnerty (Mountbellew-Moylough), Sarah Spellman (Sarsflelds), Ava Lynskey (Ardrahan), Noreen Coen (Athenry), Niamh Kilkenny (Pearses), Ailish O'Rellly (Oranmore-Maree), Tara Kenny (Sarsflelds), Emma Helebert (Balllnderreen), Shauna Healy (Ardrahan), Lorraine Ryan (Kiltullagh-Killmordaly) and Aolfe Donohue (Mullagh).