Junior B Hurling & Football Titles ♦ Minor Hurlers come up short in Final ♦ Senior Camogie Team win County Title 


Junior B Hurling Champs001
 County Junior B Hurling Champions

Promotion to Intermediate Fooball

An injury time point from a free earned Athenry junior footballers promotion to the intermediate ranks and left Renvyle’s dreams of glory in tatters. Four minutes earlier the North Connemara side had scored a crucial goal to take the lead for the first time in the match only to be denied at the death in an entertaining encounter at Clonbur.
There was very little between these sides all through, but two vitally important frees from Athenry goalkeeper Cathal Kilkelly proved the ultimate difference between the sides. Athenry always seemed to have the edge and it was a test of their character that they were able to respond in such a devastating fashion when staring defeat firmly in the face.
In the end, it was Kilkelly’s long range frees which proved vital for Athenry and particularly as he was called up from goalkeeping duties to kick four points – and crucially held his nerve for the find two pressure kicks.
Points from Kilkelly, Gavin Glynn and Aidan Poniard for Athenry came early but they went on to dominate with Declan Byrne scoring two and Poniard adding another. Michael Aspel of Renvyle and Athenry’s industrious David Carroll exchanged scores early on but points from play from Liam Sammon and Tom Nee brought the West Board champions to within a point of their opponents.
Two misses on the trot from midfielder Stephen Henue knocked the momentum out of Renvyle as Athenry once again took a three point lead through Declan Byrne and Cathal Kilkelly. Again Renvyle had to dig deep and Tom Nee reduced arrears and then a high ball from Brian Coyne was well won by Tommy Walsh who was then grounded in the square. A penalty was awarded and Walsh drilled the ball to the net. This put Renvyle a point up with three minutes of normal time remaining but as Athenry advanced in search of an equaliser, the Connemara side conceded frees and Cathal Kilkelly had no problem in this department. Michael Fahy, Sean Judge, Paulie Farrell, David Carroll, John Feeney, Emmet Gaffney, Gavin Glynn, Declan Byrne and Aidan Poniard also contributed a lot to this Athenry victory. Final score: Athenry 0-11 Renvyle 1-7
Athenry: C. Kilkelly (0-4 frees); S. Healy, M. Fahy, B. Higgins; S. Judge, P. Farrell, D. Carroll (0-1); J. Feeney, E. Gaffney; G. Glynn (0-1), D. Byrne (0-3, 0-2 frees), M. Foran; A. Poniard (0-2), R. O’Reilly, J. O’Driscoll. Subs.: D. Collins for Judge; M. Monaghan for Fahy; E. Caulfield for Glynn; C. Quinn for M Foran.

County Minor Hurling Final Thriller

In an excellent county minor hurling final at Pearse Sta­dium St. Thomas’ were put to the pin of their collar to defeat a hugely determined and spirited young Athenry side. The final scoreline does scant justice to the brave efforts of an Athenry side who found them­selves just one point down with nine minutes to play, only to be rocked by two late goals from a team who had squandered a late six point lead 12 months earlier - before losing to Tur­loughmore in a replayed final. This game was supposed to be all about the realisation of a dream for St. Thomas’ and they duly delivered the club's first A title at the grade, but full credit went go to a lively Athenry team who seemed to come out of nowhere during the year. Billy Caulfield's talented youngsters could hold their heads high and learn from the experience. Final Score: St. Thomas’ 2-17 Athenry 2-10.
Athenry: B. Casserly, J. Gibbons, E. Donnellan, N. Gibbons, D. Glynn, C. Burke, G. Moroney, M. Hannon (0-1), T. Flynn, C. Caulfield (0-1), T. Divilly (1-0), J. Divilly, B. O’Brien, L. Madden (0-8, 6 frees) T. Hardiman, Subs: R. Hynes for O’Brien J Carr for Hardiman.

Athenry Junior A County Champions3 2008
County Junior A League & North Board Junior B Football Champions 2008
Front Row: (left to right) P.J. Dooley (Selector), James Foran (Manager), Conor Lane, Declan Byrne, Paulie Farrell, Emmet Gaffney, Danny Kelly, Noel Coffey, David Carroll, Johnny O’Brien (Selector), Peter Melia (Selector) and Cian Coffey. 2nd Row: (left to right) Tony Coffey, Clem Quinn, Ed McDonagh, Aidan Poniard, Michael Fahy, Sean Judge , Ronan O’Reilly, Damien Collins, Declan Farrell, Brendan Burke (Secretary,) and his son Eoin). 3rd Row: (left to right) Trevor Ruane, Mark Healy, Derek Carroll, Tom Kelly, Matthew Monaghan, Conor Quinn, Shane Healy, Brian Higgins, Michael Foran, John Feeney, Ray Treacy. Back Row: (left to right) John Grealish, Emmet Dooley, Emmet Caulfield, Ger Brown, Kieran Kilkelly, Stephen Kelly, Gavin, Gavin Glynn, Bernie Ryan, Kieran Fahy, Kerril Rohan and Paul Ryan.
Junior Football002 
Lotto Winner
Under 16 football league winners002
Athenry Camogie Team
County Senior Camogie Champions 2008
Front Row: (left to right) Regina Glynn, Deidre Ward, Emma Costello, Mary Keogh, Darrell Coen, Noreen Coen. Back Row: (left to right) Stephanie Gannon, Jessica Gill, Krystal Ruddy, Alice Poniard, Therese Maher (captain) Laura Linnane, Sarah Donohue, Nichola Nally and Katherine Glynn. On the right Geraldine McGrath presents the County Cup to Athenry captain Therese Maher.
Minor Hurling Finalists 2008
County Minor Hurling Finalists 2008
Front Row: (left to right) Richie Hynes, Aidan Higgins, Cathal Keane, Padraig Hynes, Eoin Donnellan, Conor Caulfield, Niall Gibbons, Gary Moroney (Captain), Luke Madden, James Divilly, Barry O'Brien, Michael Mullins. Back Row: (left to right) Thomas Duane, Darragh Loughnane, Daniel Cowman, Eanna Reilly, Thomas Flynn, Conor Burke, Jack Gibbons, Mark Hannon, Kieran Kelly, Thomas Hardiman, Brian Casserly, Cathal Hardiman, Kevln Madden, Thomas Divilly, Darragh Glynn, Kevin Moroney and Jack Carr.
Minor Hurling Action 2008
Junior Football001
Junior A County League Champions2 2008
Junior B County League Champions2 2008
Under 16 football league winners001
Pres Jerseys Football
2008 bobby bardner with 1948 ball
Bobby Gardner with the football used in the county junior football final in 1948 and fifty years later in 2008 
Draw 2008 0002
Draw 2008 0001
Paul Hession 2008 001
Paul Hession 2008 002

Photo Gallery 2008

GAA Publications in Digital Flipping Book Format

2008 Galway GAA Annual