First Under 16 County Hurling Title ♦ Chairman Pake Ruane steps down after nine years ♦ Thirteen goals in Senior game


1968 County Under 16 H Champions2
County Under 16 Hurling Champions 1968
Front Row: (left to right) Johnny Gannon, Sean Staunton, P. J. Molloy, Christy Morrissey, Leo Coffey, Tony Kelly, Gerry Connaughton, Michael Morrissey, Frank Kilkelly, Christy O'Grady, Michael Donnellan. Back Row: (left to right) Sean Hynes, Kieran Barrett, Francis Joyce, Gabriel Coffey, Kevin Donoghue, Brian Hardiman, Pakie Flannery, Joe Killeen, P. J. Killeen, John Quinn, Paul McDonagh and Johnny Gannon.


Goals galore but Senior Team loose to Killimordaly

Thirteen goals gave supporters of plenty to cheer about during an exciting senior championship game between Athenry and Killimordaly. The game at times tended to get out of hand and even the referee was 'in the wars' as he left the field. Kilimordaly held on at the end for a two-point win, 7-5 to 6-6.

Both teams appeared to have goalkeeping problems with lgnatius Madden scoring three goals for Athenry and Stephen Coen doing likewise for Killimordaly. Two of Madden's came in the final quarter before Hubert Conway levelled the scores with a goal from a 21 yard free. Michael Treacy put Athenry ahead with a goal, but Paddy Mitchell lifted Killimordaly hearts with a fine point before Coen slammed in a goal from a free to give his side the lead, which they held until the finish.

Team: Gerry Burke, Billy Conway, Anthony Freaney, Frank Brody, T. J. Jordan, Richie Williams, J. J. Kelly, Ray Glynn, Noel Keogh, Anthony Poniard, Michael Treacy, Hubert Conway, Noel McEvoy, lgnatius Madden, Jack O'Shea.

The under 21 team defeated Abbeyknockmoy in their first game and were convincing winners by 5-8 to 1-5 over Turloughmore in the North Board Final. The winners led by 2-6 to 1-1 at the interval and were never seriously challenged by poor a Turloughmore side. Tempers were lost on a number of occasions and referee Paddy Grace was forced to order a player from each side off in the closing stages.

Team: Luke Glynn, Christy Kelly, John Donnellan, Jim Jordan, Christy Coffey, Paddy Gannon, Willie Cummins, Tom Long, Ray Glynn, Martin Maloney, Anthony Poniard, John Crosby (Capt.), Michael Coffey, lgnatius Madden, Juno Barrett.

After a fine hour's hurling at Kenny Park, Moycullen defeated Athenry in the County semi-final by 6-7 to 5-5. Athenry were doing everything right in the first half and had opened a gap of eight points, but three goals by Moycullen in the space of five minutes put them back in contention. At halftime the sides were level, but goals again in the second half gave the West Board champions a well-deserved victory.

The minor hurling team was awarded the North Board title after Turloughmore failed to field for the final at Kenny Park. They put themselves in the running for a hat trick of titles with a 0-11 to 2-3 win over Oranmore/Maree in the County semi-final. But a superb goal by Oliver Cloonan for Craughwell in the last few minutes of the final spurred his side on to victory. It was a deserved win for Craughwell, altough Athenry were a superior team in strength, the winners centerfield assured that their forwards got plenty of ball. The man-of-the-match was Athenry goalie Luke Glynn - his many spectacular saves saved Athenry on several occasions and kept them in the game until near the end. The final scoreline was Craughwell 2-4, Athenry 1-2.

Team: Luke Glynn, Johnny Gannon, Gerry Donoghue, Gerry Kelly, Christy Kelly, Paddy Gannon, Pakie Flannery, Tom Burke, Sean Hynes, Joe Glynn, Noel Kelly, Kevin Donoghue, Eugene Glynn, Noel O'Grady, Mark Donnellan.

Under 16's produce an exellent display to win County Title

In the County under 16 championship Athenry trounced Turloughmore in the North Board and qualified to meet Loughrea in the county semi-final. In an exhilirating exhibition of hard ground hurling and a grandstand finish Athenry emerged winners by one point, 4-4 to 4-3. A brave attempt to level the scores by Kieran Fitzgerald from a fifty-yard free hit the post and was cleared.

The final against Oranmore/Maree also lived up to expectations and both sides produced an excellent display of stickwork. Athenry had to fight tooth-and-nail to overcome a superb West Galway fifteen. After an initial spate of nervousness at the start, Athenry settled down and at the interval led by 1-2 to 0-2.

According to The Connacht Tribune 'Pep talks to both sides produced the required results after the interval. The tempo became fast and the endeavours became furious-though at no time did rancour creep into the exchanges-" Athenry stayed ahead and were winners by 4-5 to 4-3.

Team: Tony Kelly, Joe Killeen, Johnny Gannnon, John Quinn (Ca pt), P. J. Killeen, Frank Joyce, Kieran Barrett, Pack Flannery, Sean Hynes, Gerry Connaughton Kevin Donoghue, P. J. Molloy, Sean Staunton, Brian Hardiman, Leo Coffey.

The trophy 'Corn Ui Chaoimh" was presented to the Athenry Captain Johnny Gannon by Mattias Mac Donnacha, Chairman of Coiste lomana who complimented both sides on the high standard of their play.

After nine years as Club Chairman, Pake Ruane retired from the post at the Club's Annual General Meeting. Several members of the Club complimented him on his work and dedication in those nine years. Pake's main ambition to unite the Parish and have one hurling club had been finally achieved and was proving successful.

1968 Pake Ruane2
Pake Ruane served nine years as Club Chairman