Poster August 2022 2

Saturday 10th September 2022 saw a great milestone achieved with the official opening of our Commemorative Wall and Community Walkway.  Club Chairman Billy Caulfield is pictured with club legend Mike Quinn who cut the ribbon. This fundraiser campaign was launched in the Raheen Woods in October 2019 following on from the purchase of a field adjacent to the club grounds in Carnaun. Having commenced fundraising and got a fantastic response we unfortunately had to postpone due to the onset of the Covid19 pandemic. It was relaunched in 2021 and was successfully concluded with the sale of 588 name plaques. This development project was to fund the construction of 2 new pitches and a community walkway. The walkway is now open and has proven to be a great public amenity. Work has also started on the 2 pitches and they will see games in 2023. The sale of 588 plaques is a testament to the great GAA community we have in Athenry and to our commitment to improving the facilities for all our players. 

Development Committee 

Emmet Caulfield (Chairman), David Donohue, Shane Donohue, Brian Farrell, Gearoid Harty, Joe Keane, Joe Kelly, Declan McGlynn, Paul Murphy, Cormac Sinnott, Mary Ruane Somers & Mark Tully.
Athenry Under 15 Hurling Feile County Champions 2022
Féile na nGael U15 Hurling was held over the weekend of April 17th and we are delighted to finish Division 1 champions for 2022. With 5 games packed into 4 days, there is no margin for error. We started the week in a group of 4 teams, 3 of which have an All-Ireland club title on their roll of honour – Athenry, Clarinbridge, Portumna and Michael Cusacks. We won all three games, with a good margin to spare in the end, but all were well contested games and only made safe in the final quarter. We then faced Kilconieron in the semi-final. This was repeat of the under 13 final of 2020 and U14 semi-final of 2021 and it was another fantastic battle. A final score of Athenry 3-12 Kilconieron 1-10 in a 40 minute match was a credit to both teams. On the other side Craughwell had come through a very difficult group before beating Kinvara in their semi-final. A packed Kenny park was the setting for the final and It was little between the teams in the first half. After the great week of weather, the rain came half way through the game making conditions difficult. It was our lads who took the initiative in the second half with some fantastic points and a great defensive performance. The final score was Athenry 1-10 Craughwell 1-03. There were too many standout performers to mention over the week- different boys stepping up in each game. In all 19 boys started in the 5 games and many more came on as subs. The two that didn’t were Vincent Gannon and Riain Doyle, who were both ruled out through injury. In his acceptance speech captain Frank Burke paid tribute to his team mates, who he described as first and foremost his friends. It was this friendship and togetherness that have been the hallmark of this team since they were very young and they have now delivered 4 county championships for the Club – U12 and U13 in 2020, U14 in 2021 and now Féile. All this time they have been coached by Paddy Kelly, who was managing teams before these lads were born. His enthusiasm and passion for hurling came through in every performance and he savoured this victory like it was his first. Paddy was supported by a great coaching team of Peter Atkins, Giles Warrington, Darragh Loughnane, Brain Higgins and Shane Donohue. We will now represent Galway in the national Féile na nGael competition in Dublin beginning June 25th. Also representing Galway will be Athenry Camoige club who won their final the following day. 


Draw 2022

Galway Feile na nGael Under 15 Hurling Champions 2022
Front Row: (left to right) Cian Hannon, Brandon Burke Keaveney, Conla Atkins, William Egan, Jack Madden, Dara Costello, Colm O'Rourke, Niall Kelly, Frank Burke, Niall McCarthy, Rory Haverty, Aodán McDonagh, Harry Conway, Cathal Mannion, Fionn Atkins, Michael Barrett, Senan McDonnell, Daragh Naughton. Back Row: (left to right) Mathew O'Neill, Jake Mulveen, Vincent Gannon, Eoin Hannon, Shay Brady, Cian Dooley, Eanna McDonagh, Colin Higgins, Ronan McGlynn, Enda Murphy, Sean Mulhall, Mark Rooney, Riain Doyle, Dylan Donoghue, Conn McGillycuddy, Patrick Whelan and Conor O'Reilly (missing from photo Ronan Hogan)